I live to eat

I love food. Anyone who knows me knows that.

It is a part of my DNA and my heritage, going back to my childhood and growing up in New Haven, Connecticut where my father operated a luncheonette. I also worked there as an adolescent and during my early teenage years. Some of my fondest memories involve shucking clams on my back porch and enjoying authentic Italian food, especially Sally’s Pizza (arguably the best pizza in the U.S.) on Wooster Street in New Haven. Sundays meant neighbors gathering at our home for a special brunch that included (my favorite) sausage and peppers.

Food is important to me to this day. Some “eat to live,” I “live to eat.” In fact, I actually plan my vacations – whether east coast, west coast or overseas – around good food and outstanding restaurants.  When in New York, I still frequent one of my teenage haunts, Grand Central Station, where The Oyster Bar is outstanding and fair game. In San Francisco, I have to stop myself from eating my way entirely through their incredible Farmer’s Market.

It doesn’t have to be fancy. For me, it is all about the entire experience. A good meal with great service shared with outstanding company.  I am fortunate to have family and friends living in different regions of the country.  When making plans to visit we always discuss the pending menu.

I think it all comes down to an appreciation of individuals (in this case: food preparers and servers; wine growers; etc.) who strive to be the best and are passionate about what they do. In turn, it shows in the final product, which stands apart from the everyday. It’s what we strive for at Dover and why, I’m sure such experiences continue to resonate – for me and, in turn, my clients.

Leave a Reply

